Standardized Testing

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (caaspp)

The caaspp program is the California State standardized testing program for all public schools. The program consists of criterion-referenced tests, including the SBAC standardized tests in ELA and Math for grades 3-11, the California Standards Tests for Science (CST), the California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA), the California Modified Assessment (CMA) and the standards based test in Spanish (STS).

The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)

The SBAC test measures the achievement of California content standards in English-language arts and mathematics for grades 3-11, science for grades 5 and 8, and history for grade 8.

The California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)

The CAPA measures the achievement of California content standards in English-language arts, mathematics, and science. This alternate assessment is for students who have significant cognitive disabilities and cannot take the CSTs even with accommodations or modifications in grades 3-11.

The California Modified Assessment (CMA)

The CMA measures the achievement of California content standards in English-language arts, mathematics, and science. This assessment is for students with disabilities who meet CMA eligibility criteria approved by the State Board of Education in grades 3-5.

California Physical Fitness Test

The Physical Fitness Test is given to all students in grades 5, 7, and 9. The test consists of three components: 1)aerobic capacity 2)body composition and 3)muscular strength, endurance, and flexibility.

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Beginning in 2017–18, the ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. The California Department of Education expects to be fully transitioned from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state's assessment of ELP by 2018–19.

State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, sometimes referred to as “transitional kindergarten”) through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards external icon, and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

1) Initial Assessment (IA)—an initial identification of students as English learners

2) Summative Assessment (SA)—an annual summative assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level

The Orcutt Union School District does not discriminate against individuals based on actual or perceived race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, age, marital status, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, medical condition, genetic information, veteran status, gender, gender identity, gender expression, sex, or sexual orientation. Compliance Officer: Susan Salucci, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources/Discrimination/Equity & Title lX Compliance Officer, 500 Dyer Street, Orcutt, CA 93455, Email:, Phone: 805-938-8909. See district policies at