Skip to main content

Health Services

Health Services

When can a student return to school after illness?

  • If a student has a fever of 100.4 or greater, the student must be fever free without fever reducing agents for 24 hours.
  • If a student has diarrhea or vomiting, regardless of whether they have a fever, they must be free of diarrhea or vomiting for 24 hours.
  • If a student has any other symptoms, students may return when their symptoms improve.

It is NOT required that students have a negative COVID test to return to school if they have a symptom that has been associated with COVID 19.

Persons Who Test Positive for COVID-19

Everyone, regardless of vaccination status, previous infection, or lack of symptoms.

    1. Stay home if you have COVID-19 symptoms, until you have not had a fever for 24 hours without using fever reducing medication AND other COVID-19 symptoms are mild and improving.
      • If you do not have symptoms, you should follow the recommendations below to reduce exposure to others.
    2. Mask when you are around other people indoors for the 10 days* after you become sick or test positive (if no symptoms). You may remove your mask sooner than 10 days if you have two sequential negative tests at least one day apart. Day 0 is symptom onset date or positive test date.
    3. Avoid contact with people at higher-risk for severe COVID-19 for 10 days*. Higher-risk individuals include the elderly, those who live in congregate care facilities, those who have immunocompromising conditions, and that put them at higher risk for serious illness.
    4. Seek Treatment. If you have symptoms, particularly if you are at higher risk for severe COVID-19, speak with a healthcare provider as soon as you test positive. You may be eligible for antiviral medicines or other treatments for COVID-19. COVID-19 antiviral medicines work best if taken as soon as possible, and within 5-7 days from when symptoms start. 

    *The potential infectious period is 2 days before the date of symptoms began or the positive test date (if no symptoms) through Day 10. (Day 0 is the symptom onset date or positive test date). 

Parents/Guardians are your kids ready for school?

No Shots? No Records? No School.

Grade Number of Doses Required of Each Immunization
K -12 Admission 4 Polio 5 DTaP 3 Hep B 2 MMR 2 Varicella
(7th – 12th) 1 Tdap
7th Grade Advancement 1 Tdap

State law requires that all students under age 18 years, TK through grade 12, be immunized against certain diseases unless they are exempt for medical reasons. At the time of registration, the school is required to have proof that your child has received all currently due immunizations.

Check with your pediatrician, family physician or medical clinic to make sure your child is fully immunized. Your child may be excluded from attending school if these requirements are not met. Click this link to see a table which explains what immunizations are due at what age – 

California Digital Vaccine Records

Digital Vaccine Record Portal

Get a digital copy of your child’s vaccine record. Just enter a few details below to get a link to your COVID-19 Vaccine Record with a QR code or your California Immunization Record. Save it on your phone and use it as proof of vaccination wherever you go.

If you are a parent or guardian and have multiple vaccine records associated with a single cell phone number or email address, enter each Digital Vaccine Record request separately.

Note: It is possible that some or all vaccine doses you received were not reported to the California Immunization Registry (CAIR), and therefore your Digital Vaccine Record may not be complete. Historically, only COVID-19 vaccinations were required to be reported to CAIR and effective January 1, 2023, all vaccines are required to be reported.

If you received your vaccinations from a federal agency (e.g., Department of Defense, Indian Health Services, or Veterans Affairs), you may need to contact those agencies for assistance with your vaccination record.

If you have questions about your vaccination record, visit our FAQ.

Ready for 7th Grade?

Ready for 7th Grade Banner image

All students entering, advancing or transferring into 7th grade will need proof of an adolescent whooping cough booster immunization (called “Tdap”) for school in the fall. Your student will not be able to receive their class schedule without documented proof of Tdap booster. In order to meet the 7th grade requirement, the Tdap booster needs to be given after they have turned 7 years old.

Immunization with Tdap can protect students, schools and communities against Pertussis. 

Requiring 2 doses of chickenpox (varicella) vaccine at: 7th grade advancement 

Medical exemptions for new admissions may be signed only by a California licensed MD/DO.

Each temporary medical exemption may be issued for no more than 12 months.

Medical Exemptions

  • Starting January 1, 2021:

    • Medical exemptions can only be issued through the California Immunization Registry – Medical Exemption website (CAIR-ME) by physicians licensed in California. 
    • Schools and child care facilities may only accept from parents new medical exemptions that are issued using CAIR-ME.
  • A medical exemption filed at a pre-kindergarten facility or school remains valid until the earliest of:

    • When the child enrolls in the next grade span (TK/K-6th grade, 7th-12th grade)
    • The expiration date specified in a temporary medical exemption
    • Revocation of the exemption because the issuing physician has been subject to disciplinary action from the physician’s licensing entity
  • Starting January 1, 2021, all new medical exemptions for school and child care entry must be issued through CAIR-ME.  Parents can create an account and log in to CAIR-ME to submit a request for a medical exemption.  Next, the child’s doctor can complete the medical exemption in CAIR-ME and print a copy for the parents to give to the child’s school or child care facility.

Mental Health

Two New Innovative Apps to Support Youth Mental Health 

On January 16, 2024, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) launched two free online behavioral health services platforms that are available to all California children, youth, and families, regardless of insurance coverage or immigration status. The platforms, which are a part of the CalHOPE program, offer free one-on-one support with live coaches, a library of multimedia resources, wellness exercises, and peer communities moderated by trained behavioral health professionals.

  • BrightLife Kids, is for parents or caregivers and kids 0-12 years old and is available via iOS (on Android mid-2024).
  • Soluna, is for teens and young adults ages 13-25, and is available via iOS and Android.

Both are available on the web at

Both platforms offer:

  • Live one-on-one sessions with qualified behavioral health coaches in English and Spanish.
  • Telephone coaching in all 19Medi-Cal threshold languages.
  • Age-tailored educational resources like articles,videos,podcasts,and stories.
  • Stress management tools and clinically validated assessments to understand and monitor behavioral health overtime.

Mandated Hearing and Vision Screenings

Young boy with hands behind his ears

California law (EC 49452, EC 49455, 17 CCR 2951) and district policy (AR 5141.3) require all students in Kindergarten, 2nd, 5th, 8th, and 11th grades (hearing only) as well as students upon first enrollment in a California public school shall receive vision and hearing screenings performed by the School Nurse or other authorized person during the school year. If there is an abnormal finding, parents will be notified by letter. Please contact the School Nurse if you have any concerns regarding your child and the screening process. 

Kindergarten Oral Health Exam Requirement

California law (EC 49452.8) requires children entering kindergarten or first grade, whichever is the child’s first year in public school, have an oral health exam and present a certificate signed by a licensed dentist or other licensed or registered dental health professional by May 31 of that school year. Oral health assessments that occurred within 12 months prior to school entry meet this requirement. If the child does not receive this exam, the parent must file a waiver stating the reason the certificate was not obtained.

Medi‑Cal Dental Program

The Medi‑Cal Dental Program provides free or low‑cost dental services to children and adults who receive Medi‑Cal, California’s Medicaid program. To find a Medi-Cal dentist, click here.

The best way to keep your child’s gums and teeth healthy is to take him or her to regular dental visits every 6 months. These 2x per year visits are covered in your child’s Medi‑Cal dental plan.

The Medi-Cal Dental Program provides the following free or low-cost services for kids:

  • Dental exams (every 6 months)
  • X-rays
  • Teeth cleaning (every 6 months)
  • Fluoride varnish (every 6 months)
  • Molar sealants
  • Fillings
  • Root canals
  • Tooth removal
  • Emergency services
  • Outpatient services
  • Sedation (if medically necessary)

Protect Your Child Against Cavities With Molar Sealants

Children start to lose their baby teeth as early as five years old. This is when their permanent teeth begin to grow in. You can protect your child’s back teeth (their molars) from cavities with sealants. Molar sealants are clear, protective coatings and are quick and painless. This is not the same as fluoride varnish, which is a pale-yellow gel. Sealants are a part of your child’s Medi‑Cal dental benefit and can protect your child’s back teeth for several years!

For more information, visit Smile California.

First Grade Health Examination Requirement

Young Male Student Playing With Toys And SmilingCalifornia law (HS 124040, 124045, 124085) and district regulation (AR 5141.3) require that parents of each child enrolling in first grade provide verification signed by a physician, that the child received a physical examination between 18 months before to 90 days after first grade entry. If a child does not receive this exam, the parent must provide the district with a waiver stating reasons the child did not receive a physical, or the child may be sent home if the parent fails to provide this verification. 

Examinations may be available at no cost through the Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program.

You can download the CHDP exam form here: Report of Health Examination FormIt is also available through the local CHDP program, schools, and provider offices.

FAQs about First Grade Health Examination Requirements and Procedures for provider and school personnel are found in the CDPH School Handbook

Waiver for First Grade Physical

Head Lice Information

Head lice is a nuisance. Prevention is key! Teach your student to avoid head to head contact, including not sharing combs, brushes, hats, scarves, head bands, helmets, and pillows. And as the saying goes, “Once a week, take a peek!” This simply means once a week, parents, take a look at your student’s scalp, especially behind the ears and at the nape of the neck, for evidence of lice or nits.

Medication Administration at School

The California Education Code states that any student who is required to take medication prescribed by a physician during the regular school day, may be assisted by the school nurse or other designated school personnel if the district receives: (1.) a written statement from the physician detailing the method, amount and time schedules that the medication is to be taken and (2.) a written statement from the student’s parent/guardian authorizing the school district to administer the medication. (E.C. 49422, 49423)

Procedures and appropriate use of prescription and non-prescription medicine

  • Schools rely on the cooperation of parents/guardians to safely and effectively administer medication to their students at school.

    Parents/guardians are responsible for:

    • Supplying all medications (schools don’t supply medications for students)
    • Transporting medication to and from school
    • Completing all required medication authorization forms
  • Parents/guardians must complete the authorization to administer medication form for each medication. The form must be signed by the health care provider and parent/guardian. Medication cannot be given without the completed form.

    Parents/guardians must bring all medications to the school office for the student. Students can’t bring medication to school. Medication can’t be transported on school district buses.

    All medication must be in the original prescription bottle, container or package.

    If half doses have been prescribed, the parent/guardian must break medication tablets in half before bringing them to the school.

    Over- the- counter medications will only be accepted if the authorization to administer medication form is signed by a healthcare provider.

  • If a student self carries medication at school, they also are required to have a health care provider’s order on file at the school with written permission from parent/ guardian and school nurse assessment.

    Students must follow rules and responsibilities of carrying his/her medication and be able to show proper usage of inhaler, epinephrine auto injector or insulin. If a student does not follow the rules and responsibilities of carrying his/her medication, then the student will lose the privilege of carrying such medication.

    No other prescription or over-the-counter medications, vitamins, herbs, or alternative medications may be carried by students on their person, in a backpack or other container Note: 

    Medication left at school will be destroyed the last day of school, according to district policy.

     A Medication Form needs to be completed annually for each medication taken at school 

    • There are a growing number of children who are chronically ill and require medications to remain stable, healthy and fully functioning.
    • Without effective medication administration, children dependent on medications may fail to achieve academic success or live healthy lives.
  • California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Education Code 49423

    • Allows designated school personnel to administer medication to students as allowed by law
    • Prior to administration the school must obtain:
    • An order from a proper healthcare provider stating medication, route, dose, and frequency for an individual
    • A written statement from parent or guardian consenting for assistance regarding medication administration as stated by healthcare provider
    • Medication provided to the school in the original, labeled container
    • Do NOT administer unlabeled medications or medications with incomplete instructions
    • Do NOT borrow medications from another individual
    • Do NOT give expired or discolored medications
    • Do NOT return unused medications back into their container if already removed
    • Do NOT administer medication if all five rights have not been checked first.
    • Wash hands before and after giving medications

Food Allergies/Outside Food

Many students have food allergies.  It is imperative that parents notify the school nurse and the child’s teacher of any food allergies as soon as possible.  In order to keep all students safe, we ask that parents DO NOT bring in outside food for classroom parties, unless you have checked with the teacher beforehand. A food allergy can turn into a potentially life-threatening situation. Parents are encouraged to consider books, pencils, or other non-food items for birthdays, parties, and end of year celebrations.

District Nurse

Michelle Romine, BSN,RN, PHN, Credentialed School Nurse,  District School Nurse Administrator

Iran Rahbar,  MSN, RN, PHN, Credentialed School Nurse,  District School Nurse Administrator

Health Office Staff

  • Kathryn A, RN
  • Rose A, LVN
  • Michelle J, LVN
  • Laci J, LVN
  • Kristina U, LVN